Mount Rushmore National Memorial, near Keystone, South Dakota, United States,  is a sculpture carved into the granite rocks of the mountain by Danish-American Gutzon Borglum and his son, Lincoln Borglum.  It features a 60-foot tall and 5.17 km wide sculptures of the heads of four United States presidents: George Washington (1732–1799), Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826), Theodore Roosevelt (1858–1919) and Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865).


The idea for Mount Rushmore also known as the President’s Mountain, was conceived by Doane Robinson (known as “Father of Mount Rushmore”). The original aim was to create a spectacle that would attract people from all over the country to his state. Gutzon Borglum, the sculptor who was working on the monument at Stone Mountain, GA, was contacted during 1924 and 1925. He was the one who identified Mount Rushmore as a perfect location for the grand monument.

Robinson along with John Boland, President Calvin Coolidge, Congressman William Williamson, and Senator Peter Norbeck gained support in Congress to receive the required funding to proceed with the project.

Congress agreed to grant $250,000 of funding for this project. Mount Rushmore National Memorial Commission was created and the work started for the sculpture. the Mount Rushmore project became part of the National Park Service in 1933. The monument was completed on October 31, 1941.

Mount Rushmore depicts the faces of four former Presidents of the United States:

  • George Washington
  • Thomas Jefferson
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Abraham Lincoln


  • Lincoln Borglum Museum and Sculptor Studio are also open all year except 25 Dec as per the timings mentioned above.
  • Spring and Fall timing may vary.
  • National Park Passes, Golden Age, Access and Eagle Passports are not accepted for parking.
Pic Courtesy -